Family & Roots 

My wife, Kari, and I met on a blind date. Yep, sometimes the outcome is great.  She and I both were born and raised in Mississippi and grew up 30 minutes from each other. I’m from Oxford and she’s from Pontotoc, MS.  Kari went to Itawamba Community College, Miss. State University, and graduated from Mississippi College. I went to Northwest Community College and played baseball. Then I graduated from Miss. State University. After being called to the ministry, I went to seminary at Mid-America Baptist Theological Seminary in Tennessee. Three months after graduating from seminary, Kari and I got hitched (married). The Lord called me to Student Ministry for 9 years in Mississippi, 6 years in Assimilation Ministry at FBC Woodstock, GA., 6 years in Family Ministry at Grace Baptist in Knoxville, TN, and now here in the sunshine state. We have two boys and two girls. 


Testimony 

I was raised in a Christian home and was in church when the doors were open. I walked the aisle when I was 10 years old and said “I want to be baptized”. I was baptized and joined the church but had not been saved. (There’s an eternal difference).  So five years later, the night before our championship football game, the Spirit of God knocked on my heart’s door, inviting me to a relationship with God. That night, I asked Jesus to forgive me of my sin and invited Him into my heart to be my Lord and Savior. I remember such a peace inside of me that has never left.  I was baptized 3 years later as an act of obedience. The Lord has been the way, the truth, and the life for me all these years. 

More About Me…

What do I enjoy doing in my spare time? I enjoy playing and watching sports, water sports, snow skiing, exercising, traveling, and hanging out with people; especially family.

Favorite places to eat? Any place that has dead bird or snow crab legs.     

Favorite movies? I like superhero movies and action movies but two of my all-time favorites are It’s a Wonderful Life and Sergeant York.

Ideal vacation spots? I always liked Destin, FL and the Caribbean. I like about any place near a lake, pond, or ocean. I also like any place with running water, electricity, air conditioning, family, and a comfortable bed.        

Hidden talents? I can fly…JK. I can talk like Chopper the duck on Tom & Jerry.                 

Back to top